Initial role-playing experience

When doing a role-play I feel very nervous because I feel in a very artificial setting and I feel I am just putting up a show. This is compounded by the fact of feeling (and being!) observed by others. I feel a constant pressure due to the anxiety of not knowing whether I am doing things “as I should be doing them”. Anxiety also builds up due to trying to put together what the client is saying, the theoretical background and what I am supposed to tell the client. I realise that I end up rushing things through, and this prevents me from practicing empathy and focusing on my own feelings. However, I realise that the best thing to do is to use my theatre experience of being present in the situation, listening to the other and to myself. This has calmed me down dramatically in the role-plays and has enabled me to focus on the client and not feel the panic.

